vBulletin Modifications

vBHackers Ripped?

Welcome to vBHackers.com! - vBHackers Updates:

Go Back   vBulletin Modifications > General Discussions > Off Topic

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2006, 01:47 AM   #1
Coder
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real Name: Mark Bolyard
Mark Bolyard is on a distinguished road

Default vBHackers Ripped?

Hello,

I wanted to drop by to mention that during some stat reviews, I found a site that was distributing forumskins made / distributed by my website. Additionally, I noticed that the site had in fact ripped the vBHackers design, see here: http://onlinevnnet.com/forum/

As a fellow vBulletin user, and also knowing how much I hate when people do these things, I felt it nessecary to post this. Do with it as you wish, if you can in fact do anything about it. I personally will be attempting to contact the owner regarding my issues.

Thank you.

Mark Bolyard (TvB)




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Old 09-03-2006, 02:05 AM   #2
Michael Biddle
Staff
Michael Biddle's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real Name: Michael Biddle
Location: Anaheim
Michael Biddle is on a distinguished road

Default

Well, thank you for the looking out. We will look into this

[staff] Can we even do anything about this? [/staff]
__________________
Support will ONLY be offered through forums
Michael Biddle / vBHackers.com
vBSEO 3.2.0 Launched - Maximum Overdrive for Your Web Traffic! Over 100 Instant SEO Optimizations

vBSEO Google Sitemap Generator - Version 2.2 Released Mandatory Upgrade for vBSEO 3.2.0 GOLD

6X Traffic - $1400 in One Day with vBSEO! Imagine What the vBSEO Patent Pending Technology Can Do For You.

Crawlability Network: vBulletin SEO | vBulletin Hackers




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 03:24 AM   #3
loco.m
vB SEO Nutcase
loco.m's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real Name: Brandon Sheley
Location: Kansas
loco.m is on a distinguished road

Default

man, that site is ugly lol
__________________
Brandon Sheley / vBHackers.com
vBSEO 3.2.0 Launched - Maximum Overdrive for Your Web Traffic! Over 100 Instant SEO Optimizations

vBSEO Google Sitemap Generator - Version 2.2 Released Mandatory Upgrade for vBSEO 3.2.0 GOLD

6X Traffic - $1400 in One Day with vBSEO! Imagine What the vBSEO Patent Pending Technology Can Do For You.

Crawlability Network: vBulletin SEO | vBulletin Hackers

Submit to Quality Directory & Link Directory & Deep Links.
vBulletin SEO - vBulletin Blog - vBulletin Newsletter
Freelance vBulletin Services (now accepting new clients) - Topeka Kansas




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 09:58 AM   #4
Coder
Idan's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real Name: Idan
Location: Israel
Idan is on a distinguished road

Default

thanks for reporting this one.

[staff]
imho, we should email the owner with threat of lawsuit.
my guess owner should know what he did was wrong, thus will prolly want to avoid any legal auit on his hands with a case he can't win no matter what - most chances he'll just remove it after few days...
[/staff]




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 10:05 AM   #5
Coder
Rickie3's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real Name: Rick
Location: Tasmania/Australia
Rickie3 is on a distinguished road

Default

i'm not very bloody happy they have stolen my exact post that i did here,I didnt authorise them to publish my hack,what can we do?? here's my hack in question that has been ripped from here http://onlinevnnet.com/forum/showthr...=4281#post4281




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 10:07 AM   #6
Coder
Rickie3's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real Name: Rick
Location: Tasmania/Australia
Rickie3 is on a distinguished road

Default

and what ****es me off more the hack codes are open source so anyone can use,and they dont need to register




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 10:15 AM   #7
Coder
Idan's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real Name: Idan
Location: Israel
Idan is on a distinguished road

Default

imho, i think indeed some legal actions might be needed, or at least sending of some "lawsuit threat email" hoping this will get them some sense to remove the stuff stolen from here...

Last edited by Idan; 09-03-2006 at 11:52 AM..




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 11:45 AM   #8
vBulletin Guru
Nick R's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Real Name: Nick
Location: Cyberspace, UK
Nick R is on a distinguished road

Default

They have nicked half my ****ing hacks to! They don't even have it set up properly they look like they have ripped bits of each site stuck them together and ended up with smething horible.. Their hack system isn't even a hack system.

I contacted Pirate Reports who is in charge of vB priacy and they might revoke the license.

Last edited by Nick R; 09-03-2006 at 11:53 AM..




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 12:32 PM   #9
vB User
MaxM's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
MaxM is on a distinguished road

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogersnm
.....I contacted Pirate Reports who is in charge of vB priacy and they might revoke the license.
I think they might be using nulled version :pirate:




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-03-2006, 12:49 PM   #10
Coder
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real Name: Mark Bolyard
Mark Bolyard is on a distinguished road

Default

Website Title: Default PLESK Page
Record Type: Domain Name
About Us: Wiki article on Onlinevnnet.com

Indexed Data
Alexa Trend/Rank: 282,059 (1 Month) 465,257 (3 Month)

Server Data
Server Type: Apache/2.0.54 (Linux/SUSE)
(Spry.com also uses Apache)
IP Address: 85.214.43.227
IP Location: - Berlin - Berlin - Strato Rechenzentrum Berlin
Response Code: 206
Blacklist Status: Clear
SSL Cert: h850561.serverkompetenz.net expires in 3513 days
Website Status: Active
Reverse IP: 26 other sites hosted on this server


Registry Data
ICANN Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
Created: 2006-06-20
Expires: 2007-06-20
Registrar Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Whois Server: whois.OnlineNIC.com
Name Server: NS2.E-LIFEVN.ORG
Whois History: 3 records have been archived since 2006-06-21



A letter to the host explaining the copyright infringment should be sufficient in having them remove the site, if that is the case. Also, If you could try and contact the forum leaders via IM, we might be able to get them to do something (although I doubt it).


Next step would be reporting them to Jelsoft. I'll follow up with any updates as I get them. Additionally, we can report this to the registrar of the domain and have the domain suspended. It would be beneficial if all those who had thier copyritten work published without permission make individual complaints, as opposed to one complaint from a single person.

(MODS / ADMINS) Off topic, could I have my username changed to Mark Bolyard ... with the space. Thank you.

Hopefully we can get this site taken down.


Conversation with possible owner:

Quote:
Mark Bolyard: Hello
onlinevnnet_com: ?
Mark Bolyard: I visited your site, onlinevnnet.com. I noticed you are distributing work that I own the copyright of, as well as other work you do not have permission to us
Mark Bolyard: Additionally, your site has copied vbhackers.com
onlinevnnet_com: did u see style like vbhackers.com ?
Mark Bolyard: Yes, I did
Mark Bolyard: And so has the owners / management of vbhackers.com
Mark Bolyard: needless to say, I, and they are not happy about the unauthorized use of that material.
onlinevnnet_com: oh, so many forum forward that source for vbb
onlinevnnet_com: u can visit www.congnghethongtinvn.com , www.vietdown.org
Mark Bolyard: No thank you. I am simply contacting you to let you know I am reporting you to Jelsoft, contacting your registrar to have your domain name suspended, and your hosting company to ask that your hosting be terminated immediately, unless you volentarily remove the site and it's contents.
I have already contacted the registrar, and am in the process of contacting the hosting company, and Jelsoft.

Jelsoft has been notified at time of this edit.

The Yahoo Contact for the above conversation is: onlinevnnet_com

Last edited by Mark Bolyard; 09-03-2006 at 01:10 PM..




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I make my forum like vbhackers? soletrader General vBulletin Support 25 09-13-2006 03:12 AM
I need vbhackers post count like hack jcodemasters vBulletin Modification Requests 5 08-31-2006 05:02 PM
vbhackers newsletter? WoodiE55 Off Topic 3 07-13-2006 01:53 AM
Greetings VbHackers blackknights Introductions 8 06-13-2006 02:04 PM
vBHackers' New Features Arnoud Announcements 12 04-30-2006 08:56 AM


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 11:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc. (Patent Pending)